Ottiliae Shaft and mining railway

Ottiliae Shaft and mining railway

At the beginning of the previous century the installations at the Ottiliae Shaft were some of the most modern in Europe.

At the beginning of the previous century the installations at the Ottiliae Shaft were some of the most modern in Europe. Especially the ore processing works set the standart at the time.
The shaft served as a hoisting shaft for the ore from the mines beneath Clausthal and Zellerfeld, which was delivered in barges underground. 
Today, the oldest remaining steel head frame in Germany and the functioning hoisting machine provide unique evidence of industrial history. 

Virtual tour of the premises

Mining railway

After the decision was made to set up the "Tiefste Wasserstrecke" (deepest water gallery) as an ore collection and main extraction route, between 1900 and 1905 the installations at the Ottiliae Shaft were extensively modernized and expanded. A completely new ore processing works was constructed, the shaft was deepened as far as the Tiefste Wasserstrecke, reaching its final depth of 594 m, and electrically powered Koepe hoisting equipment was installed. During the period of reconstruction, a mining railway was used from the Kaiser Wilhelm Shaft to the central processing works at the Ottiliae Shaft, on which the ore was transported above ground using electric locomotives. 

The planning and construction of the railway was probably performed by the railway construction department of the company Orenstein & Koppel - Arthur Koppel AG in Berlin. 

The planning documents were submitted on 15th June 1899 and the contract was signed on 7th August 1899. At the end of December, of the same year test runs with the electric locomotives took place. The building work was performed in the depths of winter and after official approval operations started on 15th January 1900.

The most important data:

  • Length of the railway: 3.3 km
  • End station at Wilhelmer Rolle
  • Branch line to the Anna Eleonore mine, "Bergmannstrost" ore.
  • Shut down in February 1905

What can you experience here

  • Head frame and shaft building 
  • Hoist building with hoisting equipment
  • Steam engine
  • Permanent exhibition "From water wheel to electrically driven hoist"
  • Historically reconstructed mining railway 

How you can get here?

Either by car or, as a special experience, with the historic mining railway. 


Möglichkeiten zur Einkehr Geeignet für Familien mit Kindern Parkmöglichkeiten vorhanden geeignet für Senioren